Home My YFS

South West clubs show their quality

Written by 
South West Region clubs show their Quality
Football clubs in the South West Region celebrated their achievements at an SFA awards ceremony on the 22nd of November at Hampden.
The SFA Quality Mark Awards are recognition of the work put in by clubs at grassroots level and 21 teams in the South West received accreditation.
There are four levels of Quality Mark - Standard, Development, Community and Legacy – and all of these were picked up by various clubs.
Regional Manager John Brown introduced the night and the panel, which included Club Development Manager Graeme Mathie, ex Kilmarnock FC footballer Garry Hay and sports journalist Bill Leckie. The SFA’s community partners, McDonald’s, were also in attendance.
Mathie ascribed a theme for the awards: “Delegation”; recognising the need for compromise and the ability of clubs and authorities to work together for the greater good and had a story for every club.
The main aim of the Quality Mark Awards, as Director of Football Development Jim Fleeting said, is to recognise “proactive clubs and schools working to increase football participation in their local community”.
Mathie echoed this sentiment, preaching a mantra of “More people, more players, more football”.
The Standard Level Awards were given out first. 14 clubs from Cambuslang (Football Academy) to Grange Academy in Kilmarnock to Stranraer (Girls) all received this award.
Four clubs received accreditation at Community and Development Level – Bonnyton Thistle FC, AUFA Girls, Gow Valley and Tass Thistle. The Development Award is given to teams with four or more teams at different age groups who are developing other sections of the club eg Girls sections and the Community Award is similar, only for clubs with at least eight teams at children, youth, female, adult levels. Disability sections are also recognised.
Three clubs received the Legacy Award – a first for the South West Region. The Legacy Level requires clubs to show how the benefit their community in addition to providing football for all and videos were shown to demonstrate the work of the clubs who achieved this status.
Next year the SFA pledged that they hoped to see even more clubs at the ceremony, either returning or for the first time.
A full list of the award winners can be found below and video highlights are available via the YouTube link.
Standard Level: Cambuslang Football Academy, Coylton YFC, Crosshouse BC, Dalrymple, Dean Thistle BC, Galston YFC, Glenburn Miners Welfare, Grange Academy, Moorlands, Rowallan Sports Club, Stranraer Girls, U.C.A., Whitletts Victoria, Winlinton Wolves
Development Level: AUFA Girls, Gow Valley, TASS Thistle
Community Level: Bonnyton Thistle 
Legacy Level: Claremont AFC, Kilbirnie Community FC, Strathaven Dynamo FC

Ryan Rowe | YFS South West Region Journalist & Bonnyton Thistle Reporter
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

Login to post comments