Home My YFS
Monday, 31 August 2020 10:27

Grassroots Heroes Recognised and Honoured at Regional Awards Featured

Written by  Matthew Muir
Rate this item
(0 votes)


The Scottish Football Association have announced the remaining winners of the 2020 Grassroots Awards for this year. 


The awards, presented by McDonald’s and the Sunday Mail, honour the unsung heroes of the Scottish game.


Speaking to the SFA Website when the nominations for the awards first opened, SFA Head of Development, Andrew Gould said“In the past year, the grassroots game has continued to flourish, but it feels particularly important to recognise the incredible work of those in the grassroots game at a time like this.”


Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the awards ceremony was unable be held in person, with the regional awards instead presented remotely via Zoom. 


On the awards taking place amid the Coronavirus pandemic and the impact it has had on football, Gould continued: “The challenges presented by COVID-19 have been astronomical for everyone in football, from the very top level all the way through to the grassroots game. 


“The dedication shown by thousands of volunteers across the country all year round deserves recognition, so I would like to thank everyone who commits their time and energy, as it is truly essential to our game.”


The awards are split into six categories, with each category representing a winner from all six regions. The full list of winners are as follows:


 Best Volunteer in Youth Football

Central Region: John Reid – Milton FC
East Region:
 John Duncan – Chair & Coach at Crieff Juniors, Chair of Perth & Kinross Youth FA.
North Region: Carol Baxter – ADJFA Match Secretary
South East Region: Allan Russell – Musselburgh Windsor
South West Region: James Nimbly – Dean Thistle FC
West Region: Don McAllister – Lochnell FC

Best Volunteer in Adult Football

Central Region: William King – AFC Chryston
East Region:
 Bill McConnell – led support in creation of Walking Football League.
North Region: Karen Mason - Inverness Caledonian Thistle WFC
South East Region: Aaron & Siobhán Connolly – Time to Tackle
South West Region: Colin Boyd – Kilwinning Rangers
West Region: Mark McGee – Thorn Athletic Community Football Club

Best Volunteer in Girls’ & Women’s Football

Central Region: David Gray – Wishaw Wycombe Wanderers
East Region:
 Sandy McWilliam – Dryburgh Athletic Community Club
North Region: Neil Daniel – Donside Community FC 
South East Region: Allan Salvona – Murieston United
South West Region: Stuart Ferguson – Ayr United Girls & Women
West Region: Scott Bland – Drumchapel United

Best Para-Football Project

Central Region: Milngavie FC
East Region:
 Dundee United Para-Football Club – Dundee United Community Trust
North Region: Westdyke Community Club Cerebral Palsy Football
South East Region: Lothian Wolves
South West Region: Blantyre Soccer Academy
West Region: Glasgow Gladiators PFC 

Best Community Football for All Project

Central Region: Bannockburn High School/Milton FC School of Football
East Region:
 Montrose Community Trust
South East Region: Hibernian Community Foundation
South West Region: Whitletts Vics in the Community
West Region: Jimmy Johnstone Academy & Freedom from Torture Project

Best Young Volunteer

Central Region: Abbie Trotter – Stirling Albion Junior Academy
East Region:
 Jack Tindal – Arbroath Community Sports Club & Friockheim Primary School.
North Region: Paul Davidson – Colony Park Juveniles FC
South East Region: Stuart Allan – Dunbar United Colts
South West Region: Ryan Taylor – Cambusdoon FC
West Region: Morgan Sorrell – Port Glasgow Juniors CSC


Youth Football Scotland would like to pass on their congratulations to all of this year’s winners and to those that got nominated. 


To find out more about the SFA and grassroots football, go to: https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/football-development/.


Read 1763 times Last modified on Thursday, 03 September 2020 14:11
Login to post comments