Home My YFS

Powerful Portobello lift Edinburgh Schools Cup

Lasswade HS 1

Kemp 47

Portobello HS 4

Martin 52, 68, Ashraf 63, Fray 79
  • 1-4 (AET)
  • Saturday, 26 May 2018
  • Meggatland Sports Complex
  • Under 15´s
  • U15s Edinburgh Schools FA Cup

Portobello HS defeated 10 man Lasswade HS in a close Edinburgh Schools Cup final. Despite only being able to field a side of ten players, Lasswade actually took the lead and, were very close to winning the cup, however, the fitness of Portobello proved to be the difference as they prevailed after extra time to lift the silverware.

It was a cup final to remember for both sides however as category one official Kevin Clancy was in charge. Clancy was officiating at Hampden in last weekend’s Scottish Cup final and has also featured in the Europa League; however, he was officiating at Meggetland as a favour for a friend.

The first-half was fairly quiet in the way of chances, with the 10 men of Lasswade defending resolutely, however, Portobello did manage to create a couple of decent opportunities. Firstly, Darren Scally was found by Olly Rudge but Scally shot straight at the keeper.

Two minutes later Portobello came close again. Aidan McFarlane played in Sulaiman Ashraf and he forced Harris Spent into an excellent save.

On the 25 minute mark, Harris Spent was called into action again. Robbie King raced through on goal but his effort, which was bound for the top corner, was tipped over the crossbar.

With this effort, the first-half drew to a close with both sides going in level.

  • Half Time:
  • Lasswade HS
  • 0-0
  • Portobello HS

After half-time, the 10 men of Lasswade began to grow into the game. Firstly, Lyle Jones cut inside and his low effort stung the palms of Jamie Smith.

Then, fifteen minutes from time, Lasswade took a shock lead. Right back Jack Crichton collected possession on the wing and crossed for Niall Kemp who beat the keeper to the ball and nodded in from close range.

Lasswade’s lead didn’t last very long though and soon after they scored, Portobello equalised. A long free-kick was delivered into the box and Owen Kray flicked the ball onto Josh Martin, who turned the ball into the back of the net.

Portobello’s equaliser brought normal time to an end, as the game headed for extra-time.

  • Full Time:
  • Lasswade HS
  • 1-1
  • Portobello HS
Portobello took full control of the game in extra-time as their superior fitness proved to be the difference. They took the lead three minutes into the additional period, with a long ball finding Sulaiman Ashraf who lobbed the keeper on the half-volley. It was an excellent goal from Ashraf, which put Portobello in front. Then, only moments later, Portobello put the game to bed. A corner was whipped into the box, and Ashraf met it. His effort was saved by Harris Spent, but the rebound was smashed into the net by Josh Martin. One minute from time, Portobello added some gloss to the scoreline. Kieran Fox delivered a cross for Owen Fray who headed into the back of the net to make it 4-1 Portobello. With this goal, referee, Kevin Clancy blew for full-time, as Portobello celebrated their league and cup double.

Final Result: 1-4 (AET)


Lasswade HS
Portobello HS
1. Harris Spent
2. Jack Crichton
4. Orin Draper
5. Bobby Wilson
6. Scott Brogan
8. Lyle Jones
9. Niall Kemp
11. Kurt Robertson
14. Adam Preston
1. Jamie Smith
2. Aidan McFarlane
3. Owen Kray
4. Adam Zajac
5. Ross Millar
6. Robbie Sutherland
7. Kieran Fox
8. Kerr Marr
9. Olly Rudge
10. Darren Scally
11. Robbie King
12. Sulaiman Ashraf
14. Sam Lewis
15. Matthew Cassidy
16. Josh Martin
17. Robbie Irving
Star Player
Lasswade HS
Portobello HS
The star player for Lasswade has to be their goalkeeper Harris Spent. He kept his side in the match on numerous occasions and led his side brilliantly throughout, and he is a worthy winner of the award.
Sulaiman Ashraf was Portobello's star man. The striker scored and led the line excellently all day. He was very unlucky not to get on the scoresheet again and, so, wins the Star Player Award.
Magic Moment
Lasswade HS
Portobello HS
Lasswade's magic moment was their goal. The goal sparked jubilant scenes among the Lasswade players and gave them hope that they could overcome the odds and lift the trophy.
Ashraf's goal is Portobello's magic moment. It was a fantastic piece of individual skill, and the pick of the goals of the cup final. The goal put Portobello in front and is well worth the magic moment accolade.
  • Match report and photos copyright Youth Football Scotland.
Login to post comments