Home My YFS
Friday, 28 December 2012 18:13

Albion 2007 side are a class above 2012

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Albion BC 2012
Albion BC 2007
McGregor (4)


#weareallcammysmith Trophy
Spain Park


By David Reid
YFS North Region Reporter
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | Twitter: @davereid0

Click here to find out more about the YFS Journalism & Media Team.

View Photo Gallery | Discuss the Match | Create a Souvenir Newsprint

Today was a great way to get the Christmas Turkey with all the trimmings digested. It was also a day where 2 Scottish Cup winners clashed against each other and paid tribute to a man who won the Scottish Cup with the 2007 Albion BC side, Cammy Smith. They were reunited and up against Albion BC's 2012 Scottish Cup winning side at the 1996 age group.

Smith has been diagnosed with leukemia and his friends are currently on a drive to raise funds to aid his recovery and for charity. For more information about the cause, click here.

Where are the 2007 players now? There are players currently plying their trade at Dundee United in Sam McGregor, and a few others who are now playing Highland League football with players such as Stuart Hutcheon who has just broke into the Keith 1st team, as well as Timmy Capstick who is number 2 goalkeeper at Cove Rangers. The squad also stretches to SFL3 with Montrose in Ryan Arbuckle.

The 2007 winning side were to take the lead first after a great through ball by Grant Smith found Ben McGregor who is signed with Cove Rangers but on loan at Junior side Banchory St Ternan rounded Nico Berton before tucking the ball into an empty net.

Lewis Beattie was this time to be the assist after he feeded in McGregor one of Bruce McGregor the 2007s sons and he kept his cool to produce another great finish past Berton in the Albion goal.

Nico Berton was then to have a bad moment after Grant Smith let fly from 25 yards which went straight at the keeper but unfortunately it slipped under him and in.

Some of the players from the 2007 side don't play football any more however Grant Smith got the bad side of his goal just a couple of moments later as he went over to the sidelines and was sick, whihc wasn't a great moment for him, just 15 minutes later he was ok to go back on.

No-one was expecting a one sided encounter and was a bit of a surprise when the 2007 side went 4-0 up after a great ball went down the left hand wing by Stuart Hutcheon which found Daniel Taylor who rounded Berton to score, Taylor now plays for amateur side Bon Accord.

The 2007 side made it 5 to the good just before half time after a great ball came in from the right hand side by Sean Ferguson who is now playing at Byron Amateurs who crossed into ben McGregor for his hat-trick.

Half Time: Albion BC 2012 0-5 Albion BC 2007

The 2012 side finally got something to celebrate about after Chris Davidson played a short pass into the feet of Darren Sinclair who placed his effort into the bottom left hand corner past Timmy Capstick.

Both teams created numerous chances and the 2012 side could have scored again after Harry Milne passed into Chris Liversedge who tried to curl into the bottom right hand corner however it just went whiskers wide.

The 2007 outfit strengthed their lead after Ben McGregor broke past two of the 2012 defenders before switching flank with his cross by playing in Sean Ferguson and he was there at the back post to tap it in.

They completed the scoring by Ryan Arbuckle playing in Ben McGregor who sealed his 4th goal of the game by rounding Nico Berton before placing it into the net, taking time to put it in the net in the process as he waited for Berton to come back.

The attendance in the game was around 300-350. It was a superb occasion with a big crowd braving the wintry weather and raising what is hopefully a lot of money for a worthy cause.

Full Time: Albion BC 2012 1-7 Albion BC 2007



Albion BC 2012 Albion BC 2007
Nico Berton
Ally Treasure
Macaulay Rae
Josh Milne
Craig Simpson
Greg Watson
Devin-Kennedy Colbert
Clark Henderson
Chris Liversedge
Harry Milne
Jack Smith
Chris Davidson
Lewis Pashley
Kyle Bridger
AJ Baker
Darren Sinclair
Dean Still
Timmy Capstick
Stuart Hutcheon
Ryan Arbuckle
Ray Gordon
Connor Robertson
Daniel Taylor
Eddie McNeilis
Grant Smith
Ben McGregor
Sean Ferguson
Lewis Beattie
Mark Robinson
Sam McGregor
Steven Hill
Danny Anderson

Darren Sinclair showed determination throughout the whole game and produced a smart finish for the goal.
Ben McGregor scored four and was on fire from the first whistle.
Last modified on Tuesday, 09 July 2013 18:51
David Reid

David Reid | YFS North Region Journalist
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

Login to post comments