Home My YFS

Aberdeen and District Juvenile Football Association 2017-18 Review

Written by 

1,350 matches have been played this season with 8,310 goals scored throughout the campaign from Under 13s-19s. This review is an insight into how the season has panned out detailing all the league and cup winners.


Under 13s

The Under 13s A league was claimed by Lewis United Youth, who won the league by a single point over Scottish Cup finalists Cove Youth FC. It was a pulsating end to the season with both Lewis and Cove battling it out in the remaining games. Cove, Banks O'Dee Albion, Ellon Meadows and Deveronvale all enjoyed some great Scottish Cup runs this season.

With 18 wins out of 18, the B League was secured by Culter United, who only conceded three goals in their final seven games of the season. Culter will be a team to watch in the A league next season, Colony Park will go up after finishing second. The C League Section 1 and 2 were won by Turriff United and Northstar Orange, the two sides met in a play-off with Northstar coming out on top winning 5-1.

The cup finals saw a 2-1 win for Banks O’Dee Albion over Cove Youth FC in the Colony Park Cup followed by a 1-0 win for Lewis over Elite FC in the Regional Trophy. The Frank Waugh Memorial Trophy saw a 3-1 win for Colony Colts against Huntly.


Under 14s

Westdyke CC 2004s claimed six trophies out of six since their inauguration to ADJFA competitive football, finishing three points ahead of Dyce. Westdyke made it to the semi-finals of the Scottish Cup before a defeat against Spartans. Thistle FC came into the A league after promotion from the B league and finished a respectable third.

After a mid-table finish last season, Peterhead stepped up their game and won the league by eight points ahead of second place West End who will join the Buchan side in the A league next term. Newmachar Youth FC and Ellon Meadows won the C League Section 1 and 2. The two sides met in a play-off with Newmachar coming out on top 3-2.

Westdyke CC clinched the Winton Trophy and Eddie Mannall Trophy beating both Banks O’Dee and Dyce BC 3-1 repsectively. The Consolation Trophy was won by Mugiemoss Youth winning 2-0 against West End Reds.


Under 15s

Banks O’Dee 2003s have never won the A league before however this situation was rectified last term with Albion finishing six points clear of second placed CBC Hilton, remaining undefeated across 16 games.

It was neck and neck for the B league with Stonehaven City coming out by a point after a 4-1 victory on the final day against Newmachar United. Banchory also go up after finishing in second and both teams will be good participants to the A league next term.

Colony Colts will be playing B League football next term winning the C League with Huntly finishing in second. Colony will be looking to do well in the B league next season.

The cups resulted in a 7-0 win for Albion over Stonehaven City in the Belmont Trophy followed by a 1-0 win for CBC Hilton over Albion in the Stonehaven Youth Trophy. West End United beat Donside United 3-1 in the Consolation Trophy.


Under 16s

The 2002 age group has seen Lewis United Youth or Banks O’Dee Albion claim the A league title however Middlefield Wasps enjoyed a good season last term before going the extra yard to claim A league honours this campaign.

Middlefield had to wait five days to determine if the league championship would be heading for Wasps after Albion played Lewis United and came away with a 3-2 win which meant Wasps could start the celebrations.

Glentanar just missed out on A league football after a play-off defeat to Donside Juvenile and the Woodside outfit have made A league football a reality this season winning automatic promotion, Westdyke will join Glentanar in the A league.

Culter Thistle’s reward for scoring 110 goals in 18 games is winning the C league and promotion to the B league. Lewis beat Albion after extra time in the Castle Trophies Cup winning 3-2 before a penalty shoot-out dictated the outcome of Colony Park vs Fraserburgh Link-Up in the Presidents Cup with the Broch winning 4-2 on spot-kicks after a 1-1 draw.

Greyhope Boys won the Consolation Trophy beating Culter Cobras 4-2.


Under 17s

Banks O’Dee Albion won the 17s A league by two points, Westdyke CC won both the local cups beating Albion and felt a bit aggrieved not to win the league. Westdyke won the Regional Trophy with a 3-1 win over the league winners followed by a 4-2 win after extra time a fortnight later over the same opponents.

Ellon Meadows won the B league title winning 11 games and losing three out of 14 matches, Colony Colts beat Huntly on penalties 7-6 after a 0-0 draw in the Frank Waugh Memorial Trophy.


Under 19s

Inverurie Loco Works won the A league finishing three points ahead of Banks O’Dee Albion. Locos also won the Sunnybank Shield with a  3-0 win over Hermes Youth in what was the last year of Juvenile football for many players involved.

Albion won the Murray Cup with a 3-1 win over Inverurie with Colony Park beating Huntly 3-2 in the Frank Waugh Memorial Trophy.

Last but not least and Peterhead Phoenix rounded off a good season by winning the B league. It was the last year of Juvenile football for these guys and after a play-off defeat to Cove, Peterhead made their intentions known at the start of the season about their ambitions, winning six out of six before a draw against Middlefield Wasps.

Phoenix won the league on the 26th April after a 0-0 draw against Fraserburgh Link-Up.

David Reid | YFS North Region Journalist
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

Login to post comments