Print this page

Westdyke get Regional Trophy with Albion win

Westdyke CC 4

Cocker 6,9, Cowie 38, Walker 71

Banks O'Dee Albion 2

Mitchell 18, McBain 89

David Reid | YFS North Region Journalist
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

Westdyke CC Under 17s reacted from their recent 4-0 defeat to Banks O'Dee Albion in the league to bounce back and win the Regional Trophy with a 4-2 win over Albion, a Kris Cocker brace alongside shots from Greg Cowie and Euan Walker was enough for the trophy to head back to Lawsondale. 

Westdyke came out of the blocks early doors and the Albion defence was really tested early on in the game. A corner kick found Rocky Troup who had a header at goal straight at Lucas Muller in the home goal. 

Dave McGinlay's side opened the scoring after six minutes, a long ball from Rocky Troup bounced off James Connelly who came into Kris Cocker who produced a fine header to knock the ball past Muller to give Westdyke the dream start. 

Westdyke pressed Albion again immediately from the centre giving Albion no time at all on the ball, three minutes later it was 2-0. A good ball was squared across goal by Greg Cowie with Kris Cocker there to tap the ball home to give Westdyke some breathing space. 

It was probably the wake up call Albion needed, they came out a bit more rejuvenated and started to create their own attacks and they reduced the deficit on 18 minutes. A shot from Saiyed Ahmed was denied by Jamie Butler however Andrew Mitchell was there to guide the ball home. 

Albion then tried to pull level with Max Scoular having a shot saved by Butler in the Westdyke goal. Andrew Mitchell nearly got a brace but another good stop from Butler denied the midfielder.

Westdyke restored their two goal advantage seven minutes before the interval after a good ball by Euan Walker played in Greg Cowie who slotted home and the two goal advantage was rewarding for the football played in the first half. 

Banks O'Dee Albion players understandably got a few stern words delivered at half time and they came out with a totally different impetus in the second half. Ahmed had a few chances for the Spain Park outfit denied by Butler. 

Westdyke made it 4-1 on 71 minutes with Euan Walker going on a good run before sliding the ball home from close range to cap off a good afternoon for the attacker, the attackers understandably get all the plaudits for scoring the goals however this cup final showed how good a team Westdyke is. 

With time running out, Albion was playing for pride more than anything else and had a few chances to reduce the deficit. A free kick from Michael Mitchell flew over the bar and enjoyed a few good periods in the second half. 

Albion pulled a goal back with a minute left. A good ball from Matthew Owen found Taylor McBain who was clear in space and the midfielder placed a fine finish beyond Butler in what was a good move from the Spain Park side. 

Westdyke CC deserved the victory and Banks O'Dee Albion know they can play better and standards can be better however positively for the Spain Park outfit, they are still in the running for the league with Peterhead BC still to play.

The calculations are simple, win the game and the league goes to Banks O'Dee Albion. These sides play again in the Raymond Kelly Association Trophy in two weeks time at Glenury Park, Stonehaven. 

These two sides have been the best sides in the league this season and served up a good game of football. 


Westdyke CC
Banks O'Dee Albion
1. Jamie Butler
2. Finlay Wood
3. Kris Cocker
6. Stuart Gilmour
7. Ian Chalmers
8. Nathan Rankine
9. Max McGinlay
10. Euan Walker
11. Blair McKenzie
12. Rocky Troup
14. Dominik Humeniuk
16. Dylan Grimbley
17. Reece Taylor
18. Alex Quantrill
19. Rory Brown
20. Greg Cowie
1. Lucas Muller
2. Matthew Owen
3. Owen Duff
4. Morgan Bruce
5. James Connelly
6. Andrew Mitchell
7. Ewan Reid
8. Matthew Morrison
10. Michael Mitchell
11. Max Scoular
14. Saiyed Ahmed
17. Taylor McBain
Star Player
Westdyke CC
Banks O'Dee Albion
Kris Cocker - The defender did his job at the back and scored a brace.
Andrew Mitchell - Andrew was all over the park as usual, scored a goal and should have had another one.
Magic Moment
Westdyke CC
Banks O'Dee Albion
The final whistle meaning Westdyke are crowned Regional Trophy winners season 2017-18.
The 2nd goal, a good ball from Matthew Owen which found Taylor McBain who placed the ball in, a good move.

Latest from David Reid

Related items

Login to post comments