Home My YFS

Cults win Presidents Cup on penalties

Cults Academy 1

Cocker 40

Oldmachar Academy 1

Murray 52
  • 5-4 Cults win on penalties
  • Tuesday, 20 March 2018
  • Northfield Academy
  • Under 18´s
  • Presidents Trophy

David Reid | YFS North Region Journalist
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

A penalty shoot-out dictated the outcome of the Presidents Cup final after nothing separated the teams in normal time. It was Cults who won their third trophy in the space of a week with Alex Dalziel netting the final penalty after two missed penalties from Oldmachar in a row. 

The final started off quite lively with both teams going for it from the word go. Ben Ross had a long range effort which went straight at Matthew Buckham. A big crowd turned out for this game and the game quietened down as the clock ticked in the 1st half. 

Oldmachar did have chances themselves and a Calum Beattie ball found Aaron Leslie however his header went over the bar and it was difficult to tell who was going to make the breakthrough at this point. 

As it looked like being 0-0 going into half time, Cults had other ideas when they got forward and Andrew Mitchell had an effort which was only parried by Buckham and Kris Cocker guided the ball home from close range which would have changed the proximity of the half time team talks. 

  • Half Time:
  • Cults Academy
  • 1-0
  • Oldmachar Academy

Due to the let of the Northfield Academy facility, this was only an 80 minute game. Oldmachar equalised 12 minutes after the restart after a great ball from Aaron Leslie came in which Lucas Murray jumped the highest to guide a fine header home past Jacob Otto. Oldmachar coach Paul McAvinue seemed to have a few stern words with his team at the interval as there was a totally different impetus about the team, they were a team that wanted to attack more. 

Calum Beattie then almost put Oldmachar ahead three minutes later however a good save from Jacob Otto denied the Banks O'Dee Albion player as both teams searched for a vital 2nd goal. The last 20 minutes of the game was a bit of a battle with very little between the teams. 

After 80 minutes, no team could get the breakthrough despite both teams having chances to clinch it at the death, Ben Ross had a chance which Buckham saved well from with Leslie trying to end his school career on a goal however it wasn't to be. Straight to penalties!

  • Full Time:
  • Cults Academy
  • 1-1
  • Oldmachar Academy
Oldmachar had the first penalty which was knocked wide before Cults's Andrew Mitchell put his side 1-0 up. Luke Fitzsimmons & Calum Beattie then scored their spot-kicks.
Aaron Leslie netted Oldmachar's 3rd penalty before Ben Ross seen his penalty saved by Buckham. Both sides scored their remaining penalties which meant sudden death. Murray Esson had his penalty by Otto before Peter Murphy was also denied by Buckham.
James Robson was denied yet again by Otto who was very vocal & good for Cults which Alex Dalziel who is a 6th year pupil stepped up and dispatched the penalty to crown Cults Academy Presidents Trophy winners 2018.

Final Result: 5-4 Cults win on penalties


Cults Academy
Oldmachar Academy
1. Jacob Otto
2. Peter Murphy
3. Luke Fitzsimmons
6. Fraser Lowe
8. Aiden Wilkinson
9. Ben Ross
10. Ryan Corthals
11. Kris Cocker
12. Omar Hamel
15. Alex Dalziel
16. Ryan Parker
17. Andrew Mitchell
Matt Buckham
Adam Blaikie
James Robson
Lucas Murray
Greig Rennie
Calum Beattie
Josh Low
Aaron Leslie
Harry Ogilvie
Lee McAllister
Finn Stalker
Murray Esson
Louis Francis
Max Reid
Luke Fawcett
Star Player
Cults Academy
Oldmachar Academy
Andrew Mitchell - He worked hard in midfield & should have scored.
Lucas Murray - Superb header & was solid at the back.
Magic Moment
Cults Academy
Oldmachar Academy
The last penalty from Cults through Alex Dalziel which won Cults the Presidents Cup.
The header from Lucas Murray - it was a terrific delivery as well.
  • Match report and photos copyright Youth Football Scotland.
Login to post comments