Home My YFS

Westdyke claim Presidents cup after extra time victory

FDS 2001 2

Mowat 20, Leslie 59

Westdyke 4

McGinlay 14, Hamilton 80 96, Walker 84
  • FDS 2001 2-4 Westdyke CC (AET)
  • Saturday, 06 May 2017
  • Ian Mair Park, Dyce
  • Under 16´s
  • President's Cup

David Reid | YFS North Region Journalist
Author's Bio | Articles by Author | [email protected]

It was a sunny scene at Ian Mair for the Presidents Cup final and an exciting cup final was on the cards between FDS and Westdyke. Both sides have had good campaigns despite not being in real contention to win the league. Westdyke in particular did very well to get here beating Banks O’Dee and Lewis United in the process.

Westdyke had the first opportunity in what was going to be an action packed cup final courtesy of forward Max McGinlay which forced a goal line clearance from Lewis Robertson. Euan Walker then tested the FDS rear guard with an effort from just inside the box which was denied by Callum Hall.

The deadlock was broken after 13 minutes after a great through ball from Nathan Rankine found McGinlay, who then made no mistake after crashing the ball home past Hall to give Dave McGinlays side the dream start.

Westdyke forced the game upon FDS early in the game and their pace & pressure was getting too much for the Aberdeen side at times.

FDS started to get into the game slightly after the goal though and they needed something spectacular to get themselves into the game and Marc Mowat couldn’t have picked a better stage to score a free kick than a cup final. His free kick 30 yards from goal went over the wall and into the top left hand corner past Ross Mowatt.

Simon Robertson's side got their equaliser and they nearly got themselves into the lead after a header from Robbie Paul went goalwards however there was an opposition player on the line to thwart his efforts.

There was nothing to separate the teams going into half time. 

  • Half Time:
  • FDS 2001
  • 1-1
  • Westdyke

Euan Walker drove the Westdyke team on in the 2nd half and should have got found himself on the scoresheet.

A great move from the Aberdeenshire outfit found the captain, however his close range effort was denied by Hall.

Westdyke were the better team, however just couldn’t get on the scoresheet with Hall producing a number of point blank saves.

FDS then took the lead for the 1st time in the game after a free kick from Ian Leslie evaded everyone and past it’s way past Mowatt in the Westdyke goal.

The big goalkeeper was slightly off his line however a good strike none the less. FDS then kept up the pressure and Stewart Gerrie had an effort which just flashed wide.

Westdyke then got an equaliser with the clock ticking down after a great effort was only parried by Hall and Jack Hamilton was on the spot to put the ball into an empty net.

Tough on FDS considering the goal came in added time and put in a lot of effort during the 2nd half, however, well deserved from a Westdyke perspective for all the pressure. 

  • Full Time:
  • FDS 2001
  • 2-2
  • Westdyke
Westdyke were hot on the heels going into extra time and the goal from Hamilton seemed to flatten FDS. Come the 84th minute Westdyke were ahead once again after a great ball from Rocky Troup found captain Euan Walker whose powerful header found its way past Hall and advantage Westdyke.

Dave McGinlays side then put the game to bed after the FDS defence was caught napping and Jack Hamilton got his 2nd goal of the game tapping the ball into an empty net. FDS had one final chance before the end thanks to Aaron Arnott however Mowatt managed to tip the ball over the bar and Westdyke were soon celebrating success once again. This is the 1st cup this Westdyke team has won so well done to all the players & coaches.

Youth Football Scotland: Website Photos 16/17 &emdash;

Final Result: FDS 2001 2-4 Westdyke CC (AET)


FDS 2001
1. Callum Hall
2. Ian Leslie
3. Cameron Yeoman
5. Robbie Paul
7. Lucas Rennie
8. Stewart Gerrie
9. Lewis Robertson
10. Ryan Anderson
11. Struan Morrison
12. Will Storey
14. Marc Mowat
16. Cameron Pirie
17. Aaron Arnott
18. Damian Pucek
19. Murray Emslie
21. Cameron Reid
22. Lucas Warren
1. Jamie Butler
2. Finlay Wood
3. Kris Cocker
4. Liam Dinnie
5. Callum Millar
6. Dylan Grimbley
8. Nathan Rankine
9. Max McGinlay
10. Euan Walker
11. Jamie Thomson
12. Ian Chalmers
15. Jack Hamilton
16. Reece Taylor
18. Rocky Troup
20. Greig Cowie
21. Ross Mowatt
Star Player
FDS 2001
Callum Hall. The FDS goalkeeper kept his side in the game with some point blank saves.
Euan Walker. A tough decision as it was a good team performance however Euan drove his team onto success.
Magic Moment
FDS 2001
Marc Mowat's goal. Into the top left hand corner past Ross Mowatt.
Euan Walker's goal to put Westdyke ahead. A good team goal and a great header from Euan.
  • Match report and photos copyright Youth Football Scotland.
Login to post comments