Home My YFS

Lothian reach final after National Trophy shoot-out

Written by 
Forth Valley Schools
Lothian Schools
Senior National Trophy - Semi Final
Forthbank Stadium
12 March 2014
After successfully coming through their groups and quarter final ties, Forth Valley hosted Lothian with both sides knowing victory would seal their place in the SSFA National Trophy final.
Forth Valley made a brighter start to the game but Lothian gradually worked their way in and scored the opening goal from a move down the left wing, involving good work from Jamie Dishington which released Jake McDonald on the left  side of the box.  He ended up nicking it past the keeper from a tight angle.
Into the second half and Forth Valley came back, scoring two penalties within ten minutes of each other.
Just as it looked like the home side had taken control, Lothian hit back. The visitors equalized immediately after the second penalty with Johnathan Court producing a very good finish after a brilliant disguise pass from Dean Ballantyne on the edge of the box.
The game then went to penalties and Lothian scored four in a row from Sam Jones, Ryan Clarke, Johnathan Court and Calum Windram. The Lothian keeper, Sean Brennan saved penalties 2 and 4 from them, making it a 4 - 2 win on penalties.
The final will be against the winners of the Aberdeen v Glasgow semi final being played on Monday 17 March. It is hoped to play the final during the week beginning 31 March. The venue will not be decided until that game is played.
Full Time: Forth Valley Schools 2-2 Lothian Schools (Lothian Schools win 4-2 on penalties)
Lothian Schools Squad:
David Henderson, Balerno HS
Calum Windram, Boroughmuir HS
David Scobie, Broughton HS 
Ryan Clarke, Firrhill HS
Jake McDonald, Firrhill HS
Cameron Tulloch, Firrhill HS
Sam Philp, George Watson’s College
Sam Jones, Lasswade HS
Kyle Hogg, Leith Academy
Dean Ballantyne, Musselburgh Grammar
Mathew Cannon, North Berwick HS
Fraser Thomson, North Berwick HS
Connor Brian, Portobello HS             
Harry Oliff, Royal High
James Flynn, St Thomas of Aquin’s HS
Johnathan Court, Stewart’s Melville College       
Jamie Dishington, Trinity Academy          
Sean Brennan, Tynecastle HS
Login to post comments