Home My YFS
Monday, 17 June 2013 19:01

Saints stay alive as Letham bow out

Written by  Rob Wilson/Garry Evans
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Letham Tangerines
Oban Saints
MacMullen (2)


U14 SYCL -  Group A
Parklea, Inverclyde

View Photo Gallery | Discuss the Match | Buy Exclusive Tournament Souvenir DVD
Click here to return to the Scottish Youth Champions League Match Centre (all coverage)

Author: Rob Wilson/Garry Evans

Oban Saints gave themselves a fighting chance going into their final group game after coming away 3-0 victors over Letham Tangerines who were left with little or no hope of qualifying after two defeats. Letham though started the brighter of the two sides and early on forced Mateusz Polewaczyk in the Oban goal to push a shot onto the post.

However, Oban defied this early pressure and opened the scoring mid-way through the first half. Declan MacMullen was the goalscorer for Oban after he slotted it to the right of the goalkeeper from twenty yards. A composed finish from the Oban Saints number 2 to give them the lead at half-time.

Half Time: Letham Tangerines 0-1 Oban Saints

Oban continued to take their chances in the second half and show that their initial 6-0 defeat wasn’t going to stop them in this tournament. A through ball for Jay Cooper and the attacker for Oban ran onto it well and tapped it in past Ben McKenzie.

Minutes later and Oban scored again through MacMullen once more. A corner in by Liam Higgins was met well by MacMullen who was unopposed and headed into the back of the net and give Oban the third and what is considered vital goal.

As the game continue Letham did show bright sparks, in particular Craig McGlashan who on three separate occasions threatened the Oban defence and goal. However, there was little he or Letham could do in the final few minutes and the Dunbartonshire League Champions Oban came away deserved 3-0 victors.

Full Time: Letham Tangerines 0-3 Oban Saints

Letham Tangerines Oban Saints
1. Jamie Forrester
2. Nathan Carmichael
3. Josh Shovlin
4. Rory McInnes
5. Ryan Sweeney
6. Aiden Young
7. Kyle Campbell
8. Scott Hutton
9. William Fleming
10. Alberto Vezza
11. Joe Slee
12. Jonathon Grier
15. Kalvin Warren
16. Bailey Williams
17. James Logan
1. Ben McKenzie
2. Kieran Campbell
3. Tyler Green
4. Douglas Thom
5. Dylan Shields
6. Joseph Gillespie
7. Jamie Sinclair
8. Caleb Jack
9. Craig McGlashan
10. Shaun Simpson
11. Ross McGowan
12. Brandon Mcgowan
17. Ivan Sevilleno
15. Sean Stewart
16. Richard Williamson
18. Dean Brown
Last modified on Wednesday, 31 July 2013 12:45
Login to post comments