Home My YFS
Monday, 17 June 2013 19:10

Milngavie and Gow inseparable in group tie

Written by  Rob Wilson/Garry Evans
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Milngavie Wanderers
Gow Valley



U14 SYCL -  Group A
Parklea, Inverclyde

View Photo Gallery | Discuss the Match | Buy Photos and Souvenirs
Click here to return to the Scottish Youth Champions League Match Centre (all coverage)

Author: Rob Wilson/Garry Evans

Neither side could be separated at the end of 40 minutes thanks to competent defending from both teams. That was not for the lack of trying though and on ten minutes a wonderful save by Jamie Forrester for Milngavie kept them in the match. A free-kick from distance was hit by Jamie MacDonald with both accuracy and venom, though Forrester managed to deny the goal.

It was then the crossbar that frustrated Milngavie as Joe Slee cut in from the left hand side and found himself on the edge of the box. With a cry of shoot from the crowd he immediately did and his attempt grazed the crossbar on the way over much to the relief of Kieran Craw.

Half Time: Gow Valley 0-0 Milngavie Wanderers

Forrester was then called into action again to deny Jamie MacDonald. Another free-kick was directed goal wards by the midfielder only for Forrester to tip the shot on to the bar. It looked certain that Gow would score with the follow up, but Connor McGrane could only header his attempt on to the bar and see the ball eventually clearer away by Milngavie.

With six minutes left to play it looked as though Gow were going to score the opening goal. A direct ball forward into the path of Scott Thomson sent him one-on-one with the goalkeeper. His attempt appeared to be on target yet Gow found Forrester in fine form and he denied them once again.

Full Time: Gow Valley 0-0 Milngavie Wanderers

Milngavie Wanderers Gow Valley
1. Jamie Forrester
2. Nathan Carmichael
3. Josh Shovlin
4. Rory McInnes
5. Ryan Sweeney
6. Aiden Young
7. Kyle Campbell
8. Scott Hutton
9. William Fleming
10. Alberto Vezza
11. Joe Slee
12. Jonathon Grier
15. Kalvin Warren
16. Bailey Williams
17. James Logan
1. Kieran Craw
2. Darren Wilson
3. Dylan Hollands
4. Lee Stubbs
5. Greg Watson
6. Jamie MacDonald
7. Jack MacDonald
8. Connor McGrane
10. Kian Adams
11. Scott Thomson
12. Lewis Docker
13. Euan Robertson
14. Cameron Taylor
15. Luke Curry
16. Liam Gibson
Last modified on Tuesday, 30 July 2013 11:59
Login to post comments