Home My YFS
Friday, 29 March 2013 16:18

Impressive St Ambrose coast to semi-finals

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)


Holy Rood HS
St Ambrose HS
O'Neil  23
Johnstone 35
Fraser 48
Archer 74
Paterson 82


Senior SSFA Shield
Ainslie Park


By Callum Hunter
YFS South East Region Reporter
chunterThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Click here to find out more about the YFS Journalism & Media Team. 

View Photo Gallery | Discuss the Match | Buy Photos and Souvenirs

St Ambrose of Coatbridge are into the SSFA Senior Shield semi-final after a comfortable win over Holy Rood, from Edinburgh. The match started as closely as was expected but Chris O’Neil, Aaron Johnstone, Nicky Fraser, Mikey Archer and Stephen Paterson scored the goals that sent the Lanarkshire outfit through.

St Ambrose started on the front foot despite creating no clear chances - Fraser’s shot was straight at Neil Fairnie in goals and Dale Dickson blazed over after an inch perfect through ball from O’Neil. Brendan Edwards tried his luck at the other end before St Ambrose began to dominate.

They looked for joy down the right hand side to Dickson, but it was Robert Park’s cross which was perfect for Paterson, but the striker’s header sailed over the bar.

Five minutes later, St Ambrose were in the lead however. A neat passing move ended with O’Neil driving from midfield and shooting low into the bottom left corner.

Immediately after, Holy Rood thought they were level when Jack Brien connected with a corner but Johnstone was on hand to clear off the line.

St Ambrose continued to control possession in the midfield however, and had claims for a penalty for handball after Dickson’s cross struck the Holyrood defender, however the referee denied those and cautioned the winger for dissent.

The away side were not to be denied a second goal before half time though. A half clearance found it’s way to Johnstone whose shot took a deflection on it’s way to the net to leave the keeper helpless.

Half Time: Holyrood HS 0-2 St Ambrose HS

St Ambrose came out the traps on top again as they searched for the third goal which would surely put the result beyond doubt. Some sloppy loss of possession by the Holy Rood midfield allowed Dickson the chance to score, but after rounding Fairnie he couldn’t hit the target.

Moments later the star man O’Neil took on a run down the left side and was eventually brought down by Edwards. Ryan Cox sent in an excellent delivery which was met by the head of Nicky Fraser, and the ball flew into the far corner to put St Ambrose 3-0 up.

The game slowed down as St Ambrose were content with holding onto their lead, and remained organised in defence. Dickson and Gallagher then passed up opportunities to further the lead, whilst Muzakaya and Rowell tried to open Holy Rood’s account.

The game developed into a fiercely fought encounter and having been booked earlier, Danny Graves was shown the second yellow and red card for a reckless challenge.
St Ambrose kept their cool however, and only a minute later they were 4-0 up. Dickson’s passed infield to Mikey Archer who skipped past a defender and rifled a shot into the top corner for the goal of the game (click here for video).

Holy Rood wanted the final whistle but they would concede one more goal, as Paterson, having missed two great chances in the first half, received the ball just inside the penalty area and poked it into the near post corner.

The referee did then bring close to play and St Ambrose, having dominated the majority of the game, came away with their rewards and a place in the semi-final against Stonelaw HS of Rutherglen.

Full Time: Holyrood HS 0-5 St Ambrose HS


Holy Rood HS St Ambrose HS

1. Neil Fairnie
2. Ryan Agate
3. Jamie Henderon
4. Danny Graves
6. Jack Brien
7. Darren Gallagher
8. Chris Kelly
9. Sean Alexander
10. Brendan Edwards
11.  Joseph Muzakaya
14. Max Rowell
15. Stephen Divers
16. Ross Thomson
17. Dillon McSorley
1. Paul Anderson
2. Kieran McConville
3. Josh McCormack
4. David McCormack
5. Gerard Gallagher
6. Mikey Archer
7. Dale Dickson
8. Christopher O'Neil
9. Aaroin Johnstone
10. Paul O'Hear
11. Stephen Paterson
12. Nicky Fraser
14. Josh Robertson
15. Robert Park
16. Ryan Cox
Jack Brien was composed in midfield on a disappointing day for his team. linedivider linedivider
Christopher O'Neil was commanding and scored an excellent first goal.
Last modified on Friday, 23 August 2013 15:24
Login to post comments